Board of Directors Elections 2020

Posted August 6, 2020
Updated November 2, 2020

The election period for Board of Directors positions ended on October 30, 2020 and the official results are shown below.

Questions or feedback regarding the election process can be sent to Becky Machnee, Assistant Returning Officer at

October 31, 2020

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2020 CSU 52 Board of Directors Election:

  • LANNY CHUDYK is declared elected to the position of President
  • ANNA VESALA is declared elected to the position of Second Vice-President/Secretary of the Board

The official certified results (generated by the voting platform which includes details such as voter turnout and votes) are currently viewable on the Simply Voting website (click ‘view results’ at the bottom).

Scrutineers and Poll Clerks were invited to join a Zoom meeting on October 31 to observe the “count.” In attendance were: Ariel Bowering, Becky Machnee, Tracy Foran, Michael Goth, Laura Raynor, Greg Novak.

A final written report will be provided to the Board of Directors and at the next General Meeting.

  • The next Board of Directors meeting will be held on November 10th at 12:30pm. Members can attend Board meetings so long as they provide advance notice of their plan to attend by emailing
  • The next General meeting is December 1st, 2020.

Thank you very much for your participation in the democratic processes of our Union and putting yourselves forward to represent your fellow workers.

In solidarity,

Ariel Bowering, Returning Officer
Becky Machnee, Assistant Returning Officer

Posted November 2, 2020

On October 31, 2020, the Election Officers and Scrutineers virtually met following the closing of the Election Period to analyze the votes that were conducted through SimplyVoting. The official results of the 2020 Board of Directors Election are:


Two candidates:



Received 508 votes

Received 486 votes

Abstained votes: 52 (5.0%)
Total votes: 1,046
Elected: Lanny Chudyk

Second Vice-President/Secretary of the Board

Three candidates:




Received 257 votes

Received 318 votes

Received 347 votes

Abstained votes: 124 (11.9%)
Total votes: 1,046
Elected: Anna Vesala

Posted October 21, 2020

As you may know, a decision was made to move to online voting for this year’s Board of Directors Election.

Election Dates

The election will be held from Tuesday, October 27, 2020 (12:01 a.m.) to Friday, October 30, 2020 (11:59 p.m.). October 27, 2020 will be considered the Advanced Poll.

Here is the information you need to be able to vote:

1. Voter Eligibility

  1. Membership in CSU 52 (being “card-carrying”) is a requirement to vote in the election. If you are not currently registered as a member, you will need to apply online or contact the CSU 52 office by noon on October 26 to allow time to process your membership and add you to the voter database.
  2. Those who are on temporary layoff with fee waives are still eligible to vote.
  3. Once the election period begins on October 27, 2020 at 12:01 a.m., the CSU 52 Office cannot issue any new Membership Cards and you will not be able to vote.

2. How members can access the vote

  1. If you have already given CSU 52 your personal email address, you will receive an email inviting you to vote during the election period (October 27 to 30, 2020). You can sign up for e-Newsletters on the CSU 52 website’s home page.
  2. You will need both your Membership Card Number and Employee/Payroll number to place a vote (in addition to being a card-carrying member).
  3. You can access your ballot in one of two ways:
    1. Go online to the SimplyVoting website and login using your Membership Card Number and Employee/Payroll number
    2. Click the embedded SimplyVoting link in the email you received and skip right to your ballot
  4. With AHS guidelines for COVID-19 safety in place, there will be an in-person Poll open at the Union Office between 7:30 a.m. and 6:30 p.m. on October 27, 2020 for those who do not have access to an electronic device to vote. You will still need your Membership Card Number and Employee/Payroll number to login to vote. Please check this webpage for updates to this poll before you travel to the Union Office. The COVID-19 situation in Edmonton is changing day-by-day and we may need to make a short notice change to adhere to AHS guidelines.

A virtual Special Meeting: Candidate Forum took place through Zoom the evening of October 20, 2020 to hear presentations from Candidates who are nominated for Board of Directors positions.

If you missed it, a video recording of the Forum is available for your viewing:

Time stamp links have been added for your convenience. 

The official nominees in the 2020 Board of Directors Election are:



Second Vice-President/Secretary of the Board


Chief Trustee

  • Rosa ANDERSON Candidate has withdrawn from election
  • Sandi GIESLER

Due to the other candidate’s withdrawal, Sandi Giesler will be declared to be elected by acclamation in the Chief Trustee position.


Contractual Unit Director, Edmonton Public Library

    Elected by acclamation; no other nominees

No election required.

Contractual Unit Director, EPCOR

  • Teresa DOBLANKO
    Elected by acclamation; no other nominees

No election required.

Contractual Unit Director, Capital Power

No nominations received – nominations will reopen for this position until the next scheduled General Membership Meeting: December 1, 2020


October 6, 2020


The nominee must:
  • Be an Active member of CSU 52 in good standing
  • Have Shop Steward and/or Committee experience
  • Have attended (during the period of October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020) a minimum of six (6) regularly scheduled:
    · General Meetings, and/or
    · Shop Steward Training Sessions, and/or
    · Unit Meetings of the Contractual Unit to which the nominee belongs
  • Not be an Election Officer


Members who have attended the minimum six meetings have their names highlighted in orange. Records as of September 17, 2020:

Download ‘Attendance Records’


Download ‘2020 Nomination Form’



An alternative contactless method that does not require the need to print, scan and email the Nomination Form is available.

The nominee and each of the nominators must write a statement that is signed and dated. An image file (photo) of each statement must then be submitted along with the required information. The person filling out the online form, whether it be the nominee or one of the nominators, should have all of the signature image files in order to upload them.

If you require assistance, please call the Union Office at 780-448-8900 between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday.

See the Online Nomination Form for more details:

All positions are for 2-year terms: January 1, 2021 to December 31, 2022

  • President | Incumbent: Lanny Chudyk
  • Second Vice-President | Incumbent: Pierre Blanchette
  • Chief Trustee | Incumbent: Donna Demyen
  • Contractual Unit Director, Edmonton Public Library | Incumbent: Lori Jeffery-Heaney
  • Contractual Unit Director, EPCOR | Incumbent: Teresa Doblanko
  • Contractual Unit Director, Capital Power | Incumbent: Tyler Dys

Position Descriptions (CSU 52 Policy & Procedures Manual)

Nominations were accepted during the online June 23, 2020 General Membership Meeting for one (1) Assistant Returning Officer and two (2) Union Scrutineers. The 2020 Election Officers are:

  • Ariel Bowering | Returning Officer (appointed by the Assistant Returning Officer)
  • Becky Machnee | Assistant Returning Officer
  • Greg Novak | Union Scrutineer
  • Laura Raynor | Union Scrutineer